Tags

, , , , ,

Thanksgiving-peanuts-452773_500_375[1]Thanksgiving November 27, 2014

I know it may seem trite to list the things I am thankful for on this fourth Thursday of November, but amidst the tumultuous upheaval in our nation and world – I would like to take pause and reflect.

Here goes:

I am thankful for my Usually Lovely Husband. He’s not perfect, thank God, because neither am I and so that makes it work. He’s kind, hard-working, smart as hell and even though he snores like a hippo in mud – still puts up with me and my teensy weensy little idiosyncrasies and refills my wine glass when necessary.

I am thankful for my two amazing children. They have beautiful hearts, are empathetic, kind and smart. They make me laugh hysterically, hug me when I’m sad and fill my world with joy.  I am proud of them every day and I have loved nearly every minute of being their Mom. (okay – admittedly I did not love the times when they had stomach flu or had super nasty poopy pants.) I look forward to watching them become men that will change the world.

Halloween Puppy 090I am thankful for my sweet, wonderful furry best friend.   He has given our family thirteen years of love and has carved out a niche in the doggie hall of fame in our hearts.

I am thankful for my own Mom.   Even though I miss her every day, she gave me the vision to love my family and appreciate what we have. She also gave me six really awesome siblings to share life with.

I am thankful for my sisters and sister-in-laws.   They support me and provide an amazing network of help in raising two boys. They laugh with me, give me advice and spoil my kids. (Especially the one who is making my youngest son White Chocolate Cheesecake with Raspberry Sauce for Thanksgiving dessert)

I am thankful for my brothers and brother-in-laws.   They are truly the nicest group of men in the world. They are superior role models for my boys for which I will be forever grateful. They can also talk sports with the offspring thus giving me a break from pretending like I care about statistics and tactics.

I am thankful for my nieces. Each of them carries a little bit of my Mom and it is joy to see that within them. I am lucky enough to have them as my friends and they have now provided us with the world’s cutest new generation which I get to adore and then hand back when their diapers are full.

I am thankful for my nephews. From brew masters to doctors to police officers – they are amazing and fun and as nice as my brothers.

I am thankful for my friends, even the ones who don’t read my blog. (ahem) My circle is wide and chock full of intelligent beautiful souls who nurture me and fill my days with compassion and fun.  Thank God for the women of this world who can laugh or cry with each other, toast together and pick up your kids from the soccer field when you are running late or stop by to let your dog pee when you need to be gone all day!

I am thankful for wine, cheese and chocolate – and because I am thankful for that I am thankful for my Cycling Instructors. I am not thankful for the music that yesterday’s substitute played however – one cannot spin happily to Michael Buble.

I am thankful for moisturizer. Well. I am. I am over fifty after all.

I am thankful that this year I finally got the guts to start writing again. It is not easy to throw your words out to the wind and wonder if anyone reads them.  I am thankful for the people in thirteen countries, including Senegal, who have taken the time to read my words and for the over 1700 times people have logged into WordPress to read my blather.   I am thankful for the 78 people who have signed up to get an email each time I post something or like my post when they see it on Facebook. My fragile ego hopes you are actually reading it. I am also REALLY thankful for the people who comment, like or repost my blogs. Wow. You are the wind beneath my wings. (Snort – I do promise to not get all Bette Midler on you.)

I am thankful that my sister is cooking Thanksgiving this year and I do not have to deal with that stupid bird carcass which I never know what to do with. And on that note – I am thankful that I get to go bounce my kids out of bed, pack them into the Mom car and head out.

Happy Thanksgiving. Do what you love and surround yourself with your loved ones today and every day.

Peanuts-under-a-tree-peanuts-6273380-500-375[1]

 

